My Top 20 Songs of 2012 #17: First Aid Kit – ‘Emmylou’

Lund?

I’m a sucker for lap steel guitar, melancholy swooning and Scandinavian women in jumpers solving grisly murders that are somewhat inexplicably linked to the heart of political power. Aside from the murder aspect (though who knows what they get up to in their spare time, eh… a boy can dream), there wasn’t much hope for me when confronted with First Aid Kit’s ‘Emmylou’.

I wrote a blog a while back about great winter songs and this was one of the best hibernal songs of 2012. It’s a simple, melodious song, with the girls promising to be the Emmylou or June to our Gram or Johnny. I’m not sure whether I’m up for developing a gargantuan amphetamine or opium addiction, but it’s nice to know that First Aid Kit would be there to pick up the pieces were I to go down that route. Tak!

Leave a Reply

