My Top 20 Songs of 2012 #20: Richard Hawley – ‘Seek It’

From an album that sat high on my ‘Disappointments of 2012’ list* (see also Jessie Ware’s debut album and Girls Aloud’s comeback single being beaten to the top of the charts by Olly “whoops, there go me trousers” Murs, a man who looks as if he could quite happily spend the rest of his life swinging from a tyre, furiously masturbating and throwing his own shit around), this song was quite simply one of the loveliest songs I’ve heard all year.

It’s built around the sort of melody that would drive a teenager from 1958 into fits of damp-eyed elation, but it never drifts into becoming saccharine, mostly because of Hawley’s typically down-to-earth lyrics. With the exception of his former paymaster, Jarvis Cocker, there are surely no other songwriters around who could write a song this charming that starts with the line: “I had a dream and you were in it/We got naked, can’t remember what happened next/It was weird”.

*the album’s not *that* bad, it’s just that the first few tracks sound far too much like The Seahorses for my listening comfort.

4 Responses to “My Top 20 Songs of 2012 #20: Richard Hawley – ‘Seek It’”

  1. Robin Says:

    Aye, nice song, one I could actually be bothered to find the name of once I heard it.

    Bit dodgy comparing people to chimps though, I think – a well-worn trope (can you wear a trope?) with dubious heritage. Besides, I could live very happily like that, if I knew that life required no more.

    • chetantos Says:

      Haha. You are probably correct. It was a toss-up between comparing him to a chimp or a particularly foolish court jester, but given the theatrical tradition of the sage fool, I went for the lazy option. It’s one of the many reasons that I don’t do this for a living.

  2. Robin Says:

    C’mon – you had me at “Whoops, there go me trousers”…

    C. Brooker is also guilty of primate comparisons, and he makes a very nice living.

    • chetantos Says:

      I was pleased with “whoops, there go me trousers”. I should have stuck with that. How do you fancy being my full-time editor, Robin? You could be the Gordon Lish to my Raymond Carver.

Leave a Reply

