My Top 20 Albums of 2011

As promised in my last blog, here is a list of my favourite Top 20 albums of 2011:

 

1. PJ Harvey – Let England Shake

2. Tune-Yards – Whokill

3. St. Vincent – Strange Mercy

4. Feist – Metals

5. The Field – Looping State Of Mind

6. Wild Beasts – Smother

7. Bon Iver – Bon Iver

8. Tom Waits – Bad As Me

9. Radiohead – King of Limbs

10. Bill Callahan – Apocalypse

11. M83 – Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming

12. Nicolas Jaar – Space Is Only Noise

13. Colourmusic – My ____ Is Pink

14. Girls – Father, Son, Holy Ghost

15. Youth Lagoon – The Year of Hibernation

16. Zomby – Dedication

17. Frank Ocean – Nostalgia, Ultra

18. Real Estate – Days

19. Arctic Monkeys – Suck It And See

20. Gil Scott-Heron & Jamie xx – We’re New Here

 

Going through this list made it apparent that there were albums here from which I didn’t include a single song in my Top 50 Songs. I will therefore make a quick special mention of the following tunes off of these albums that I particularly loved:

• Wild Beasts – End Come Too Soon

• Nicolas Jaar – Too Many Kids Finding Rain In The Dust

• Girls – Just A Song

• Zomby – Witch Hunt

• Arctic Monkeys – Suck It And See (if just for the line: “You’re rarer than a can of Dandelion & Burdock/And those other girls are just post-mix lemonade”)

• Gil Scott-Heron & Jamie xx – I’ll Take Care of U

 

My next blog will be all about PJ Harvey’s album, which I absolutely adore (the album that is, not my blog).

 

Leave a Reply

